top of page

The Way of Serenity: Help Me

I do love these kind of reviews. I can give you my thoughts on a series that has ended, and let you judge for yourself if it is truly worth the listen in its entirety. This AD is no exception, though I EMPLORE you to take the journey. So, let’s kick this right off. Come with me, and you’ll be, in a world of vocal stimulation….yeah, I’m sorry about that…..This is Help Me.

This AD is only one season long. One season of pure horrific bliss so all-encompassing that it brings a tear to my eye that there is no more. Help Me follows Nichole Keen as she begins her own investigation into the death of her best friend, Olivia. What is ruled a suicide may be anything but, as voice recordings Olivia has left behind show. As the story progresses, Nichole finds herself pulling further and further away from her friends and family, while at the same time going deeper and deeper into a horrifyingly tragic endgame with an unknown enemy. There’s not much more I can say without giving it away, so on I go!

I was a BIG fan of The Slender Man Mythos and the work that came out of that (Marble Hornets, EverymanHYBRID, TribeTwelve, Seeking Truth, just to name a few). Found footage in general really interests me, and Help Me is no exception. It did everything right in the genre. It kept you guessing as to what really happened to Olivia. You start to question if Nichole is just taking everything WAY out of context and inventing this horrible narrative in an attempt to cope with her friend’s death. You experience the slippery slope Nichole takes into this whole mess. It’s absolutely perfect and truly captures the found footage experience.

Now I don’t want to give the big baddy away…in fact, I couldn’t even if I wanted to. It is left up to your imagination as to what it could be that terrorizes Olivia and Nichole. There are hints as to what they thought it was, but it’s truly up to you. Coming back to The Slender Man, I could see Slendy behind all this. The sounds that mark his arrival are extremely creepy and well done. I don’t think I’ve ever heard anything like it in an AD.

I was able to find a reason that this show ended. According to the creator, it was a project for school, done with friends, and that there was never really any plan to go beyond this season. While it upsets me greatly that there will be no more, it does go to show that great drama can be made without keeping it alive for six or seven seasons. Sometimes, all you need is one season and a damn good cliffhanger.

I thoroughly enjoyed Help Me. It was everything I ever wanted in AD Horror. Go listen, you won’t be disappointed.


bottom of page