top of page

First Impressions: The Strange Case of Starship Iris

Welcome once again to First Impressions. These articles are to showcase up and coming ADs that crawl across my Twitter feed (@thatdaftpunk_, for those curious), and that deserve more recognition. In most cases, the ADs I have here are under five episodes long at the writing, and this one is no exception. It is, however, exceptional in story, acting, and concept.

Let’s hop, skip, and jump right into The Strange Case of Starship Iris.

The show opens with a literal bang, as Biologist Violet Liu tells of a massive explosion that has crippled the Starship Iris, leaving her the lone survivor aboard. Slipping into the all-encompassing despair, she is saved, mentally for the moment, by an unfamiliar voice. This voice is of Captain Kay Grisham of the Starship…..well, we don’t know. The ensuing dialogue is well scripted, well-acted, engaging, charming, and literally everything I’m looking for in an AD. These two characters feed into each other’s narratives so well and connect in every right way, I can’t help but fall in love with them. There’s a good twist towards the end of the episode, so I won’t go further than that, but I’m already on board with this show.

Sound wise, I’m liking the less is more approach they have going. You’re not bogged down with all the techno bells and whistles that seem to permeate mainstream sci-fi movies and shows. Now, I love R2-D2 just as much as the next geek, but there’s only so much whistling and beeping I can take before I have to turn off a show to recover from overstimulated auditory capacitors. Yeah, went with a little techno-jargon, like it? Starship Iris has few sound effects, but you won’t really notice it what with the actors giving you everything you need.

I can’t say much for the story, only because there’s only two episodes out right now. I can say that I love where it’s going right now. I won’t give it away, because this is an AD you HAVE to listen to. I am so excited for more, and I cannot wait to see how these characters change and develop over the course of several episodes.

All in all, The Strange Case of Starship Iris is everything any sci-fi geek could ask for. Great acting, awesome twists, and loveable characters. If you haven’t heard of this show, I suggest you add it to your list. As I said, there are two episodes out at the moment, so it’s an easy listen for the time being. As for me, I’m going to try and be patient while waiting for the next installment. I say try when I actually mean sigh about every sixty seconds that there isn’t a new episode out, and whine softly while I wait.

To the creators of Starship Iris: I love what you have going so far, and it’s killing me a little inside waiting! Keep up the amazing work, and I hope to hear new stuff soon!

Much love,

-TDPYN

bottom of page