top of page

Neon Nights: The Arcane Files of Jack Tracer

Pulp Fiction is a big part of my life.I can’t get enough of pulp Sci-fi novels, Twilight Zone episodes, and of course Pulp Fiction Audio Plays. Today, I’d like you to take a trip with me. Not only in space, but in time. We’re going back to the heyday of Pulp Fiction Heroes such as Doc Savage, Buck Rogers, and The Shadow. We’re cruising down the damp streets of a city bathed in shining beacons of consumerism. A place where you can be anyone you want to be, with the right amount of dough. A place where bad seeds sprout, and it’s down to one man, a hard hitting P.I. to uproot them before they grow.

Say hello to Jack Tracer.

Welcome to Neon Nights.

I’ve been putting this review off for a little while now. Not because of anything I find wrong with it, quite the opposite actually. I’ve been building my excitement, and golly gee was I right to do so.

Neon Nights is a serialized Audio Drama much in the vein if old detective radio shows that graced the airwaves in the 30’s and 40’s. We follow a former cop turned PI names Jack Tracer. Gruff, tough, and soft on whiskey, Jack takes on the cases that no one else will. I won’t go into too much more, as I’m sure you’re all aware of how these types of shows went. Each “case” is broken down into several episodes, and there are currently four cases as of writing this. Each has a unique story, but also expands on the core characters such as Jack Tracer, Red, and others. From cults to vampires, this show puts you right in the middle of it all with phenomenal acting, fitting and classic pulp crime music, and cases that will not let you relax until you know whodunit!

For my thoughts, let me just lay it straight. I find this AD to be one hell of a fun ride. You can’t help but get into the campy nature of these kind of shows. Throw in a bit of magic and the occult, and you have got me good! It also helps that I could listen to Red’s velvet vixen voice all day…..anywho.

The show is so much fun to listen to, and you can tell that the actors are having just as much fun making it. The camp is in there, the tongue in cheek humor, the Noir detective setting, each element comes together to produce a great addition to an already stunning legacy of pulp detective Noir. You’se guys better be subscribin’, or else Big Tony here’s gunna have ta teach ya what we do to chumps like youse. But seriously, Neon Nights: The Arcane Files of Jack Tracer should be crawling up your AD list, as it certainly has mine.


bottom of page