top of page

First Impressions: Attention Hellmart Shoppers!

Welcome back to another edition of First Impressions! I have been wanting to review this show for a good while now, but I held off. I felt like a spoiled little child, not wanting to share. Well, I’ve decided that sharing is caring, and I care about you DEEPLY to share this one with you. I have listened to this show over 167 times, AND IT JUST KEEPS GETTING FUNNIER. EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. I LISTEN! NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT YOU’RE READING A REVIEW BY A ROBOT! NOW WHAT DO YOU THINK????....should we get going?

I am proud to present the First Impressions of Attention Hellmart Shoppers!

If I had to sum up this show in one word, I can’t think of a better word than Fun. This AD is so fun! I commute a half an hour one way to work, so I have some time to myself before I get to work, where I sit in front of a computer and dive into ADs for the next 8 hours. AHS makes my commute fun and full of laughs. Trust me when I say, making the mornings anything other than a drowsy haze is an accomplishment in and of itself! However, AHS does that and so much more!

We are introduced to our main character Daniel Richmond. Do NOT call him Danny…eh, everyone does anyway, go for it! Daniel is part of a convict work program from the prison where he was incarcerated for white collar crimes. He explains it better, I’ll let you find out what those are.

Instead of going to a cushy firm in the heart of New York as he thought, he finds himself at the Strickland Hello-Mart, the site of ancient burial grounds, an insane asylum, blood altars, and the most vile and sickening location imaginable….the ET Atari Graveyard…..

After being told he will be the new stocker for the Hello-Mart, Daniel is shown around the store, given his new uniform, and set to work. What follows is silly, spooky, and sometimes surreal (leprechauns….just….leprechauns…). There’s just a minor glimpse into this AD, so now you’re wondering…what else?

I won’t spoil anything, but I will give you some thoughts. I can’t help but find similarities to The Office and that movie Waiting. You know, the Ryan Reynolds movie no one talks about? Yeah, that o- nope, wrong one…the other one….THERE. This show FAR surpasses that movie, in every regard. Let me explain a little. AHS gives you a wide range of characters, each with their own personality, agenda, mannerisms, and each truly do feel unique. They’re not just cookie cutter stand ins, they truly have life to them. The way they interact with each other and develop a bond with Daniel as a new employee, as well as Daniels character development so far, really shows amazing writing and VA skills. I’ve fallen in love with each of them, except Chet…I hate that guy…hate him hard and long….ahem. As far as I know, all but one of the characters is done by one person! That is a major feat, and you’ll understand why if you listen.

The premise of this AD is something both unique, and leaves you thinking, “WHY THE HELL DIDN’T I THINK OF THAT???” I mean, a demonic convenience store? Spooky and downright weird patrons? Tight knit staff that abhors the strange and unusual customers, yet is entitled to make them happy for the sake of their living wage? I mean…okay, this is exactly like Wal-Mart, but HERE it works!

My final thought is that this is a show worth keeping up with. Like I said in the beginning, I’ve been waiting for this show to update enough to give me solid material for a review, and I am so happy with what has been put out so far. You are doing a major disservice to yourself by not subscribing to Attention Hellmart Shoppers. It’s funny, it’s heartwarming, it’s quickly climbed up my top five list, and I’m predicting it will become one of the major ADs out there! Go subscribe now!!


bottom of page